Limited Permit Bone Density Technician School
The Foundation for Osteoporosis Research and Education (FORE), is certified by the State of California Radiological Health Branch to offer a Limited Permit X-ray Technician School in Bone Densitometry. This intensive three-day course is held Friday to Sunday to accommodate the working person. The school is a value-added program that allows the student to receive cutting-edge education, information and quality instruction. The course is 18 hours of classroom instruction, 2 hours of lab and 4 hours of clinical instruction where the student will perform 20 scans that are required by the State of California to be eligible to take the state licensing exam.
As of January, 2018 our course is still on hold. Please see below for details on our “sister school” in San Diego.
The Exercise and Physical Activity Resource Center (EPARC) located at the University of California San Diego is excited to announce the opening of their new School of Bone Densitometry. This school will provide high quality training for individuals who would like to become certified in California as Limited X-Ray Technicians using Dual X-Ray Absorptiometry (DXA).
UCSD’s School of Bone Densitometry will hold monthly classes over 3 days (Fri through Sun). These classes will be a blend of traditional didactic “in-person” instruction, interactive online learning, and direct experiential training. Over the course of the 3 days, students will receive all of the training necessary to sit for (and pass) the state exam. Not only will students receive the fundamental knowledge and skills required to be a top-notch technician, the UCSD School of Bone Densitometry offers training in advanced research and clinical applications ranging from lateral veterbral assessments, to highly accurate estimates of visceral fat.
Dr. Jeanne Nichols, the EPARC scientific director, and David Wing M.S., the EPARC Laboratory Director, have more than 30 combined years of DXA experience, and will lead the instruction team. Additionally, subject experts in radiology, pharmacology, nutrition and other related areas will provide didactic instruction. \
You can sign up for classes at https://extension.ucsd.edu/courses-and-programs/bone-densitometry-training.
Expected 2018 class schedule below
- Feb 23-25
- March 16-18
- April 20-22
- May 18-20
- June 22-24
- July 20-22
- Aug 24-26
- Sep 14-16
- Oct 12-14
- Nov 2-4
- Dec 7-9
Foundation for Oteoporosis Research and Education Course Faculty
LIMITED LICENSE SCHOOL STAFF
Kyla Kent, CBDT – Program Director
Emely Wendell – Program Administrator
LIMITED LICENSE SCHOOL FACULTY
Kathleen Cody, MBA
Kyla Kent, CDT
John Shepherd, PhD
Jennifer Yates, EdD, RT(R)(M)(BD)
FACILITY RADIOLOGY SUPERVISOR OPERATOR
Anjali Jain, MD
LIMITED LICENSE SCHOOL RADIOLOGY SUPERVISOR OPERATORS
Matthew Epstein, MD
Roy Harris, MD, CCD
Vishal Panchal, MD
Richard Hong, MD
Kiren Jain, MD
LIMITED LICENSE SCHOOL CLINICAL INSTRUCTORS
Karen Felts, CBDT
Leila Kazemi, CBDT
Frequently Asked Questions
How do I register? To register for the Limited License School, please click the link to the school you wish to attend above. Please read ALL registration materials before submitting your registration. Please email firstname.lastname@example.org if you need a registration form to be sent by fax or mail.
How long does it take to get the state license from the time I take the course? FORE processes all the state required paperwork within one week from the completion of the course. The processing by the state certification unit varies from 3-6 weeks. Once the application is processed by the certification unit, the start of the exam eligibility period begins. The window for taking the state licensing exam is one calendar year (DPH-10-014 regulations package, section 30405). For questions regarding the certification process, call the Certification Message Line at (916) 440-7998; calls are returned within 24-48 hours.
Do I need a Limited Permit in Bone Densitometry if I am a RT? In the State of California, a Certified Radiologic Technologist (CRT) may perform all X-ray categories, including bone densitometry, with the exception of FLUOROSCOPY, MAMMOGRAPHY, RADIATION THERAPY and NUCLEAR MEDICINE. In California, those four modalities require additional permits. While a CRT may not require additional certification to do DXAs, many organizations prefer that their technologists have the additional training provided in FORE’s limited permit school in bone densitometry, and some facilities may actually require additional certification from the State of California Radiology Health Branch to assure quality among their staff. The American Registry of Radiologic Technologists offers an Advanced Level Examination in Bone Densitometry that RT’s may take if desired. Technologists who pass this exam may use the (BD) in addition to the RT(R) designation signifying advanced level registry status in bone densitometry.
Do I need a Limited License in Bone Densitometry if I am a Nuclear Medicine Technologist? Yes. Nuclear Medicine does not cross over to X-ray, it is a stand-alone modality. The State of California Radiologic Health Branch licenses people for nuclear medicine, but they do not regulate schools for nuclear medicine.
What happens when I finish the school? Once you have passed the school requirements, FORE will submit your application and other required forms. The California Department of Public Health – Radiology Health Branch will process the application and send you notification within 1 month informing you to take the licensing exam at a local testing center. You have 1 calendar year to complete the test with a passing grade of 70%. DO NOT DELAY. you must apply 30 days before the 1 calendar year deadline.
How do I take the State Licensing Exam? The 1 calendar year exam window does not get extended for failed exams. Theoretically you can sit for the exam as many times as it takes within that 1 calendar year window. However, there are other factors that limit this ability, and other things to know, such as:
- You must pay the ARRT exam fee each time you schedule an exam.
- Any exam fee must be paid to the ARRT at least 30 days prior to the end of the 180 day window.
- ARRT allows only one examination schedule at one time. Therefore, if an exam is failed, the student must wait typically 30 days for the results to be processed before they can re-schedule the exam.
A very good resource for exam information is the ARRT Examination Handbook, which can be found on www.arrt.org. It contains information on exam content and timing, test centers, score reporting, what to expect on test day and more information that any test taker should read.